Eight teams make LPGA's International Crown

Set Text Size SmallSet Text Size MediumSet Text Size LargeSet Text Size X-Large
Updated: 11/21/2013 6:29 pm

Naples, FL (SportsNetwork.com) - Eight teams qualified for next year's International Crown on Thursday. The top four ranked players on a team combined for the country's score, which in turn established the eight teams.

The biennial event starts next July and will by contested at Caves Valley Golf Club. The eight qualifiers were - in order - South Korea, United States, Japan, Spain, Sweden, Thailand, Chinese Taipei and Australia.

The four players that were used for the qualifying points won't necessarily be the four players that comprise the teams come July. For example, the four players used to create South Korea's team were world No. 1 Inbee Park, No. 4 So Yeon Ryu, No.6 Na Yeon Choi and No. 9 I.K. Kim.

If any of them falter at the start of the 2014 season, No. 14 Jiyai Shin or No. 15 Amy Yang could play their way onto the team.

The final rosters for the pre-qualified countries will be set on March 31, which is the Monday before the season's first major, the Kraft Nabisco Championship.

The International Crown has three days of team four-ball matches before Sunday singles matches. The eight countries will be split into two pools and each country will play two four-ball matches versus each of the other three countries in their pool.

The top two point earning teams from each pool and one wild-card team will advance to Sunday singles play based on total earned points in pool play.

After Sunday's singles matches, the team with the highest four-day point total will be crowned as the champion.

State Farm Athlete of the Week
Click to submit your Athlete of the Week
Know an outstanding high school athlete? We want to highlight them on the FOX 34 State Farm Athlete of the Week.

Inergize Digital This site is hosted and managed by Inergize Digital.
Mobile advertising for this site is available on Local Ad Buy.